About System
There are about 7100 volcanic edifices of various types, sizes, age, and conditions in Kamchatka. They all have been formed over the last 2 to 2.5 million of years. More than 800 edifices are located on the Kuriles. There are 126 known submarine volcanoes within the Kurile Islands arc. The majority of the formations is poorly studied, though the active volcanoes that pose a real threat to population and infrastructure are studied better. These are volcanoes that have produced at least one dated eruption over the last 3000-3500 years. There are 68 terrestrial active volcanoes within the Kurile-Kamchatka zone, which is about 15 percent of total number of all active volcanoes in the Pacific Ring of Fire. Many most active volcanoes of the Earth are located in this zone. They annually produce 3 to 5 explosive eruptions. The volcanoes in the Kurile-Kamchatka island arc produce about 20 percent of world total volume of the erupted material.
The Volcanoes of Kurile-Kamchatka Island Arc (VOKKIA) Information System (IS) was designed for integration of geological, geophysical, geochemical and other data for both volcanoes and submarine volcanoes in the Kurile-Kamchatka Island Arc and adjacent waters.
The VOKKIA system has been designed as a part of the IVS FEB RAS Geoportal since December 2010. Top priority objects of description in the designed information system are active volcanoes, as well as volcanoes, which were active in Holocene (over the last 10,000 years).

Data Sources

The VOKKIA sources include:

  • Catalogues and summary data (Влодавец, Пийп, 1957; Геология СССР, 1964; Горшков, 1957; Гущенко, 1979; Действующие..., 1991; Новейший..., 2005; Новограбленов, 1932; Огородов, 1972; Горшков, 1958; Siebert et al., 2010). This data is improved and updated using other literary sources including results from modern investigations published in latest papers.

  • Information web-resources of IVS FEB RAS:
  • Local information resources of IVS FEB RAS:
    – The following databases: World active volcanoes, Analysis of rocks from Kamchatka volcanoes, Kurile island arc submarine volcanoes etc.;
    – The following geoinformation systems: ocene Volcanism of Kamchatka (Пономарева и др., 2008), Volcanic hazard posed by the Kurile-Kamchatka island arc (Муравьев и др., 2010), Geomagnetic investigations of Late Cenozoic Pacific submarine volcano activity (Рашидов и др., 2010), Geomagnetic investigations of the Kurile island arc submarine volcanoes etc.;
  • Data from web-sites of other scientific organizations.

  • Structure of Information System

    Currently the IS includes the following information sections: «Volcanoes», «Eruptions», «Deposits», «Rocks», «Monitoring», «Images», «Geoservices», «References». The «References» section is based on data from the IVS FEB RAS Repository, which is the open and free archive of scientific publications.
    Full access is available for the registered users only.
    Recommended browsers for viewing this site: Google Chrome, Mozilla Firefox, Opera, Yandex. Using another browser may cause incorrect browsing of webpages.
     
    Terms of use of IVS FEB RAS Geoportal materials and services

    Copyright © Institute of Volcanology and Seismology FEB RAS, 2010-2021. Terms of use.
    No part of the Geoportal and/or Geoportal content can be reproduced in any form whether electronically or otherwise without the prior consent of the copyright holder. You must provide a link to the Geoportal geoportal.kscnet.ru from your own website.
     
    ©Development&Design: roman@kscnet.ru

О системе
На Камчатке насчитывается ~ 7100 вулканических построек разных типов, размеров, возраста и сохранности, возникших за последние 2–2,5 млн. лет, на Курильских островах – более 800 (Новейший и современный вулканизм на территории России, 2005). Кроме этого, известны 127 подводных вулканов – 126 на Охотоморском склоне Курильской островной дуги (Подводный вулканизм и зональность Курильской островной дуги, 1992) и один (вулкан Пийпа) – в Командорской котловине Берингова моря. Большая часть вулканических образований до настоящего времени мало изучена, несколько лучше исследованы самые опасные для человека и хозяйственных объектов действующие вулканы – многоактные вулканы, для которых установлено и датировано хотя бы одно извержение за последние 3000–3500 лет. В Курило-Камчатском регионе насчитывается 68 действующих наземных вулканов, что составляет до 15 % от общего количества таких вулканов Тихоокеанского огненного кольца. Здесь находятся и многие наиболее активные вулканы нашей планеты, ежегодно наблюдаются эксплозивные извержения 3–5 вулканов. Общая продуктивность вулканов Камчатки и Курил составляет около 20% объема материала, извергаемого вулканами земного шара.

Информационная система «Вулканы Курило-Камчатской островной дуги» – «Volcanoes of Kurile-Kamchatka Island Arc» (VOKKIA) предназначена для систематизации и интеграции геологических, геофизических, вулканологических, петрологических, геохимических и других научных данных по наземным и подводным вулканам региона, полученных за многие годы работы вулканологов.

Система VOKKIA создана и развивается в составе геопортала ИВиС ДВО РАН с декабря 2010 г. Первоочередным объектом описания в системе стали действующие вулканы, а также вулканы, проявлявшие активность в голоцене (в последние 10000 лет).

Источники данных

Источниками данных для системы VOKKIA являются:

  • каталоги и сводные научные труды (Влодавец, Пийп, 1957; Геология СССР, 1964; Горшков, 1957; Гущенко, 1979; Действующие..., 1991; Новейший..., 2005; Новограбленов, 1932; Огородов, 1972; Горшков, 1958; Siebert et al., 2010). Эта информация уточняется и дополняется данными из других литературных источников, в том числе результатами новых исследований, отраженных в последних научных публикациях;

  • информационные веб-ресурсы ИВиС ДВО РАН:
    каталог «Активные вулканы Камчатки и Северных Курил»;
    каталог «Голоценовые вулканы Камчатки»;
    каталог «Позднекайнозойские подводные вулканы Тихого океана»;
    БД «Позднекайнозойские подводные вулканы Тихого океана»;
    веб-сайт «Геофизические исследования подводных вулканов Курильской островной дуги»;
    веб-сайт «Подводный вулканизм Курильской островной дуги: геодинамические условия и формирование геохимической специфики»;
    архивы Камчатской группы реагирования на вулканические извержения (Kamchatkan Volcanic Eruption Response Team (KVERT));
    БД «Архив фотографий фотолаборатории ИВиС ДВО РАН»;
  • локальные информационные ресурсы ИВиС ДВО РАН:
  • – базы данных: «Действующие вулканы мира», «Анализы пород вулканов Камчатки», «Каталог подводных вулканов Курильской островной дуги» и др.;
    – геоинформационные системы: «Голоценовый вулканизм Камчатки» (Пономарева и др., 2008), «Вулканическая опасность Курило-Камчатской островной дуги» (Муравьев и др., 2010), «Геомагнитные исследования различных типов проявлений позднекайнозойского подводного вулканизма в Тихом океане» (Рашидов и др., 2010), «Геомагнитные исследования подводных вулканов Курильской островной дуги» и др.;
  • данные официальных сайтов сторонних научных организаций.

  • Структура ИС

    На сегодняшний день ИС включает информационные блоки: «Вулканы», «Извержения», «Отложения», «Породы», «Мониторинг», «Изображения», «Геосервисы», «Библиография».
    Блок «Библиография» реализован на основе данных Репозитория ИВиС ДВО РАН – открытого архива научных публикаций.
    Доступ к некоторым разделам системы открыт только для зарегистрированных пользователей.
    Рекомендуемые браузеры для просмотра данного сайта: Google Chrome, Mozilla Firefox, Opera, Yandex. Использование другого браузера может повлечь некорректное отображение содержимого веб-страниц.
     
    Условия использования материалов и сервисов Геопортала

    Copyright © Институт вулканологии и сейсмологии ДВО РАН, 2010-2021. Пользовательское соглашение.
    Любое использование либо копирование материалов или подборки материалов Геопортала может осуществляться лишь с разрешения правообладателя и только при наличии ссылки на geoportal.kscnet.ru
     
    ©Development&Design: roman@kscnet.ru